Departmental councils

The department councils organize the operations of each of Inalco's eleven study departments, the plurilingual section of languages and cultures, and the two professional departments. They are elected by the department's teaching staff and students every three years.

At the head of each council is a department director and one or two deputy directors who are teacher-researchers. The director is elected for a non-renewable three-year term.

The department council is both a decision-making body (it defines, for example, examination procedures specific to the department) and a consultative body (it indicates to the Training and Student Life Council the need for additional hours).

The department councils were renewed in December 2022.